Dana Hoyt, Ph.D., CPA

Senior Consultant


Ph.D. Accounting Information Systems, University of Texas Arlington

MBA, Texas Woman’s University

BS, Accounting Texas Woman’s University

Certified Public Accountant (CPA current licensee)


Strategic finance using budget and data analytics; feasibility of consolidation/ merger or shared service models; athletics – changing landscape and finance; vision and strategy related to leading change; onboarding or executive coaching


Dr. Dana G. Hoyt retired as the thirteenth president of Sam Houston State University (SHSU) August 2020. She assumed the presidency on September 1, 2010, after serving as the university’s vice president for finance and operations since April 2009. Before coming to SHSU, she served as president of National University, the second largest private nonprofit institution of higher education in California. She previously held vice presidential positions at SMU, University of Colorado at Denver (UCD), YMCA of Metropolitan Denver and Texas Woman’s University. Dr. Hoyt started her higher education career as an accounting professor. Before higher education, she worked in public accounting. As president, Dr. Hoyt led the effort to add an osteopathic medical school at SHSU. During her vice presidency at UCD, she participated in the consolidation of the downtown campus and the health science center.



Higher Education

  • Chair and board member for AASCU
  • Chair and board member for American Academic Leadership Institute
  • Board member of Academic Search
  • Board member of Southern Association of Colleges and School Commission on Colleges
  • A term as chair of Council of Public University Presidents and Chancellors (Texas)
  • Chair of the Southland Athletic Conference presidents group

Other Pertinent Community and Corporate Service

  • Current Member of the Woodforest National Bank board
  • Past member of Huntsville Memorial Hospital board
  • Past member Fidelity, Inc. (not for profit customer board)
  • Past member Denver Downtown Partnership board


  • Athena Leadership Award (2020)
  • National Women’s Council Top 15 Women in Business of Houston (2017)
  • SHSU Sammy (2020)
  • NASPA Region III President’s Award (2019)
  • TWU Distinguished Alumna (2009)
  • SMU Administrator of the Year (2006)